• 35Days
  • 8Hours
  • 27Minutes
  • 25Seconds

8pm GMT+1 / 12pm MST / 13pm CST / 2pm EST /
8pm CET / 3am KL / HK / 6am AEDT

This session is aimed to give you an insight into how pre-hospital care has evolved over the last three decades and is now an integral part in the chain of survival for the critically-injured patient.
Panel Host: Mr Ash Vasireddy

speakers

Target audience: medical students, paramedic students, nursing students, paramedics, critical care paramedics, anaesthetists (all grades), intensive care physicians (all grades), orthopaedic surgeons (all grades), trauma surgeons & all surgeons involved in managing the trauma patient (all grades), pre-hospital care doctors (registrars / fellows / consultants), emergency medicine doctors (all grades)

We have applied for 2 CPD points for this session

Case 1:

Male in mid 20s. Motorcyclist struck by a lorry.

  • not breathing
  • very pale
  • not responding

HEMS arrive: airway ok, but very fast and shallow breathing
HR 110-120
BP low systolic 80 very week radial pulse
No obvious external signs of bleeding
Significant tenderness and discomfort in abdomen and pelvic area
GCS is low at approx 10-11 with reasonable motor score

How would you intervene?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

How would you then stabilise this patient's injuries and how would you package him before taking him to hospital? (Select all that apply)

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

Case 2:

Elderly patient that’s fallen down 1-2 steps.

Family member called 999 and said patient appeared dead, was not breathing but had a pulse. Ambulance team and air ambulance arrive and assess the patient who breathing but has a HR 150-180. Small scalp laceration. Blood pressure fluctuations very significant 80 systolic to 150 systolic and on occasion 200.

How would you consider managing this patient?

Is administering a pre-hospital anaesthetic the right answer?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Which hospital would you take the patient to?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Register for our webinar below: